Skip to product information
1 of 1

Mel Bay

Henri Wieniawski: Violinkonzert No. 2

Henri Wieniawski: Violinkonzert No. 2


Regular price $17.95
Regular price Sale price $17.95
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The second violin concerto of the Polish violinist and composer Henri Wieniawski (1835-1880) is regarded alongside the works of Niccolo Paganini, Ludwig van Beethoven, Felix Mendelssohn and Max Bruch as among the most famous virtuoso violin compositions of the 19th century. This edition provides the musician with a new, contemporary version of the work for violin and piano. Originally composed in three movements for violin and orchestra, the concerto was conceived in 1862 and premiered in St. Petersburg. Dedicated to Pablo Sarasate, the concerto is concerned less with violinistic bravura, highlighting instead artful passagework and technical effects on the violin interwoven in a highly detailed musical structure. Introductory notes in German, English, Russian, Spanish, French, and Japanese.

View full details